What do you need to know about Devil May Cry?

2019 is a big year for Devil May Cry. The series is back after quite a hiatus. It was 21 years between Capcom’s Devil May Cry 4 and 5. It had been six years since Ninja Theory-created DmC: Devil May Cry. People may have wondered if the sons of Sparda would ever return. This sort of gap between games may mean some are unfamiliar with the demon hunters. Well, that’s where Michibiku steps in to help. Here’s all you need to know about the series.

What is Devil May Cry?

Devil May Cry is an action game focused on creating and maintaining combos. Demons have invaded areas, and the only way to stop the invasion and restore peace is by stepping into the shoes of demon hunters. You need to mix up gun and sword attacks to wear enemies down, while also avoiding being hit. The better you do, the higher your style rank and score.

Fortunately for players, the lead characters also have demonic blood in them. This allows you to draw upon a Devil Trigger system to harness a demon’s power to transform. Characters will have a new form that is faster and stronger than before, making it even easier to cut down foes.

Who was Sparda?

To better understand all the demon invasions in Devil May Cry, it is important to understand how some of the biggest heroes in the series came to be. Dante is the perennial hero of the series, and he and his twin brother Vergil are the sons of a legendary hero named Sparda. Sparda, a demon, went against his own kind to save humankind.

About two thousand years ago, Mundus the Prince of Darkness took control of the Demon World and was planning to overtake the Human World as well. Sparda, the Dark Knight, fought back. Even though he was a demon, he fought for the people of this other realm and defeated Mundus. He sealed him away. He and his wife, a human named Eva, had Dante and Vergil. Sparda passed two of his swords and the amulets needed seal off the two worlds from one another onto the two boys.

Unfortunately, evil always finds a way to break through, and the boundaries falling down leads to new adventures for the fully-grown Dante and Virgil.

How many Devil May Cry games are there?

There are six Devil May Cry games so far! Some can even be found in different collections, giving people easier access to certain titles.

Devil May Cry (PlayStation 2, 2001)

The original game introduces both Dante and the major antagonist. A woman named Trish comes into Dante’s Devil May Cry devil hunter shop to hire him and alert him to the return of Mundus, who killed his mother. It introduced us to the series’ most prominent characters.

Since its PlayStation 2 release, it has appeared on other platforms via the Devil May Cry HD Collection. Thanks to this remaster, people can also play it on the PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC.

Devil May Cry 2 (PlayStation 2, 2003)

A man named Arius is attempting to take over the world by using the power of a demon named Argosax, and it is up to Dante and a woman named Lucia to stop him. Both people can use the Devil Trigger as they fight against evil. Its gameplay is somewhat similar to the original, though it isn’t as difficult as the first game.

It is also available on the PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC via the Devil May Cry HD Collection. 

Devil May Cry 3: Dante’s Awakening (PlayStation 2, 2005)

In this installment, people get to go all the way back. Dante still isn’t sure of himself or his powers. All he knows is that his brother, Vergil, is working with someone named Arkham. The two are up to no good. He ends up teaming up with Mary, a woman whose mother was killed by Arkham, to fight the men and their demonic minions.

In addition to the original PS2 release, it is now available on the PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC through the Devil May Cry HD Collection. 

Devil May Cry 4 (PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and PC, 2008)

Things shift a bit with the fourth installment, as a young man named Nero steps into the role of the hero. He’s a The Order of the Sword knight under High Priest Sanctus, a group that reveres Sparda. Except Dante comes in and acts the role of the villain, attacking the Order. Naturally, demons appear, and players follow Nero initially as the situation is figured out.

Devil May Cry 4: Special Edition was eventually released on the PS4, Xbox One, and PC.

DmC: Devil May Cry (PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and PC, 2013)

An alternate reality installment developed by Ninja Theory, instead of Capcom, this offers a very different view of the world and sons of Sparda. Dante is a young man who is different and has unusual power. He is pulled into Limbo and given a chance to fight the demons that plague humanity, hunt him, killed his mother and captured his father.

DmC: Definitive Edition was eventually also released on the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.

Devil May Cry 5 (PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC, 2019)

A demonic tree has appeared in Red Grave City, accompanied by an invasion of Devils. Dante, Nero and a mysterious new hero named V, who summons demons to fight for him, all head to ground zero to face the demons within.

What if I want to go in chronological order?

Here’s the thing about Devil May Cry games; these weren’t released in order. The timeline jumps around. In fact, it jumped around so much between games that ahead of Devil May Cry 5, the official order of things was switched around again. The February 21, 2019 Capcom Confidential podcast confirmed things ahead of Devil May Cry 5.

The official timeline now begins with Devil May Cry 3. The original Devil May Cry happened after the events of that installment, followed by Devil May Cry 2. Devil May Cry 4 is the fourth game, and the events of Devil May Cry 5 are the most recent ones to occur.

This may have you thinking, "What about DmC: Devil May Cry?" It is a reboot. While this game still has Dante, Virgil, Sparda and other familiar characters, the gameplay and story are quite different. If you like the idea of alternate realities and parallel worlds, check it out.

Questions? Comments? Talk to us on Twitter or Facebook!